Main Article Content


Before India’s independence from United Kingdom of Great Britain, Kerala had been divided into three regions- Travancore, Cochin and Malabar. The Travancore and Cochin were princely states whilst Malabar was under direct British administration being the part of Madras presidency.  Travancore and Cochin joined together in 1949. The Kerala state was formed in 1956 on linguistic lines by merging Malabar with Travancore-Cochin. It led to the separation of the four Tamil speaking taluks from Travancore-Cochin decreasing the Christian population in Kerala. While the amalgamation of Malabar into Travancore-Cochin increased the number of Ezhava and Muslim populations.

Article Details

How to Cite
Dr Ajayan T. (2019). The Kerala Education Act – 1958. History Research Journal, 5(6), 137-158. Retrieved from